SER or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello fellow Electricians,
This is my first post as a new member, please excuse me if I'm not too savvy in form just yet, thanks. I have been an electrician for over 20 years but admit that I have been primarily involved in the automation and control sector for the last 15 years and I am a bit rusty on the the more routine aspects of service installations. I am helping a friend install a new (relocated) service in PA, under MetEd spec. My question is this; The home is in a flood plane, the meter for the home and a second meter for a barn on the property are to be installed at standard elevation, approx 6ft to the top of the meter pan. It will be supplied from the pole by underground feeders in 3" conduit and terminate at a lug that allows for the tap to the 2 meters, 100A for the barn and 200A for the house. Sorry, I'm getting to the question. After the house meter, I am going to install a disconnect at the same elevation for the house, from there, 3" LFMC changing to 3" shed. 40PVC to an LB entering the home above the 8ft flood plane. I would like to run SER cable inside the flex and PVC for both protection and aesthetics, but continue inside the home up to the second floor where the panel and main breaker will be located. Is this permissible? I would also like to know if and how the EGC to the rod outside can be properly run and terminated as it passes through the disconnect to the rod? I admit I'm a bit embarrassed to ask such a simple question, but as I said I'm stuck in a bit of a niche field these days, no complaints, and could use the advice of experienced installers. I would be happy to take a crack at any questions you may have regarding 4-20 ma signals! Appreciate the help!

Smart $

Esteemed Member
Sounds good to me. :happyyes:

Note you do not have to continue PVC once inside and at some point fill around cable with duct seal.

Smart $

Esteemed Member