Does this look right!

Status
Not open for further replies.

alive wire

So this is my first time, there's a disagreement between an electrical engineer and a city electrical inspector ( and I'm stuck here in the Middle With You) about bonding and setup of this Transformer we chose the side of the inspector because we need our Green tag and to get on down the road.
Scared to death that I'm actually saying this to you guys.
But give me your opinion uploadfromtaptalk1464217380603.jpg

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

winnie

Occupation
Electric motor research
Looks _wrong_ to me.

The supply neutral should not be in the picture at all. It should not be connected to the secondary neutral, and should not be connected to ground.

If the feeder for this transformer originates at the service panel then this might not actually be a problem, but it is not compliant.

-Jon

alive wire

Looks _wrong_ to me.

The supply neutral should not be in the picture at all. It should not be connected to the secondary neutral, and should not be connected to ground.

If the feeder for this transformer originates at the service panel then this might not actually be a problem, but it is not compliant.

-Jon
That's what the engineer thought , what I thought but the city inspector in buying it.
This run is as follows 277/480 disconnect to 277/480 panel to 30 kva 208/120Y trans to 208/120 panel

Smart $

Esteemed Member
Code wise (with extreme emphasis) I do not believe there is any requirement which prohibits a feeder neutral. It makes this transformer a non-SDS. Code offers little specifics on grounding such, but removing what is otherwise the system bonding jumper would make it compliant. The non-compliancy as wired is the connection scheme creates a parallel pathway for neutral current on the equipment grounding system and will require rearrangement of grounding per 250.6...