inspectors doing electrical- learned something new

Status
Not open for further replies.
This electrical inspector was installing new electrical in his buddies place with no permit. Then has the nerve to come over to me working next door asking to buy some breakers if o had them. This inspector wanted to replace an existing 2 pole breaker with to singles stating code did not allow a two pole breaker to protect single pole circuit.
The panel was service , no main and had six handles already and putting singles would put it over.

Then to further exasperate the situation this guy was telling me.

I AM AN ELECTRICAL INSPECTOR , I KNOW THE CODE

ok so go to the Frikin store do I look like the hardware store delivery man.

What nerve.
Glad I don't work anywhere near this guy's territory.

user 100

Huh?
I do not live there.

This inspector dude was working next door to the place I was at. He's a actual electrical inspector working on his buddies place, no permits, concealed boxes, too many breakers and no main...........

A fine example he is setting.

Not worth getting upset over imo- should have simply asked him in front of his buddy to show you where in your copy of the NEC/local codes such practice of using the dp is prohibited with the promise of -one brand spanking new shiny single pole breaker.

And then with you explaining the no more than 6 rule- ask where, in local ordinance (in writing) such practice is allowed- for- the 2nd single pole breaker.:lol:

rudiseldb