Feeders Vs Branch Circuits

Status
Not open for further replies.

theophilus88

Professional Architectural Engineer
Occupation
Greetings to any knowledgeable engineer,
Given the following layout, which are examples of feeders and which are examples of branch circuits? I assumed they were all feeders, but I was uncertain as to whether the conductors between HVAC equipment and a panel would be considered a feeder or a branch circuit. I am assuming most conductors that serve motor loads are considered feeders, but just wanted to verify? Also, is there a cutoff to where motor load equipment conductors are considered feeders and branch circuits? Please help.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Even though your attachment isn't showing I know the answer to your question but since I'm not an engineer I will refrain from answering.

Roger

jtinge

Occupation
Sr. Elec. Engr
Even though your attachment isn't showing I know the answer to your question but since I'm not an engineer I will refrain from answering.

Roger

Per the NEC,

Branch Circuit. The circuit conductors between the final overcurrent device protecting the circuit and the outlet(s). (CMP-2)

Feeder. All circuit conductors between the service equipment, the source of a separately derived system, or other power supply source and the final branch-circuit overcurrent device. (CMP-2)

If the panel contains the last overcurrent protection device before the HVAC eqiupment, by definition, the conductors between the panel and the HVAC equipment would be branch circuit conductors.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Per the NEC,

Branch Circuit. The circuit conductors between the final overcurrent device protecting the circuit and the outlet(s). (CMP-2)

Feeder. All circuit conductors between the service equipment, the source of a separately derived system, or other power supply source and the final branch-circuit overcurrent device. (CMP-2)