Moving to Florida from New Hampshire - what am I in store for?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bjp_ne_elec

Looking at "retiring" in a year or so, so want to get things lined up so I can work as and Electrical Contractor in Florida. I know they don't reciprocate with NH or MA, where I have my Master's licenses, and it is a bit confusing when I research what is required. I think I have it partially figures out, that you have to have an Electrical Contractor's license through the state, and then it's not clear to me what is required in the various counties. I'm relocating to Lee County, and they have a website, and I found a form where you have to apply and they recommend being there for the meeting that happens once a month. I will be calling the Lee County authorities to find out more detail.

I did talk to one gentleman I just happened to meet today, and he told me he looked in to it, and it seems rather convoluted. He presently has a Journeyman's in MA, and works for himself. In MA, a Journeyman can work for himself and do electrical work, and can employ and Apprentice, but can't hire other Journeyman. He said that he hears once you pass the test, there are still some hoops to jump through. One he mentioned is that you have to present your credentials, and even if you pass the Electrical Contractor's Florida Electrical Contractor's test and passing, you can still be denied from being issued your Florida Electrical Contractors license. Can some of the Florida contractors comment on this. Some of my commercial experience goes back a ways, so are these credentials required to be experience within a recent timeframe, or does it consider you're whole career as an Electrician?

I'm just looking to work part time for myself, doing mostly small jobs in mainly residential setting. I'm not at all interested in seeking and bidding any commercial work - although I have extensive experience with commercial. I just want to cater to the average homeowner.