Extending Lateral Service Entrance Conductors

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kaztech

Occupation
Generator Contractor
I have to relocate a residential underground lateral service to the exterior of the home. In doing so, the service conductors won't be long enough to terminate in new SE Rated ATS on the side of the house. (rural area - meter can is located 250 feet away out on property entry) My plan is to attach a NEMA 3R can to the side of the homes foundation to splice the conductors. In order to keep them accessible, I'm creating an open air bulkhead/vault (area approximately 36" wide x 48" long and 36" deep) with have adequate drainage as not to accumulate water and will have a removable "hatch" covering it to allow access. Anyone see an issue with this?

Kaztech

Occupation
Generator Contractor
Pertinent question Larry.. rural area - not required... I'm a TQP Licensed Generator contractor here in VT which allows me to install generator installations soup to nuts. Most of my applications the meters right outside the home above ground service entry. Trying to save customer cost of pulling new service entrance conductors which is approx. 278 feet away. Good chunk of change. Everything I do is driven by code, thus the reason I posted it.. I've scoured NFPA 2020 and don't find anything prohibiting this. 230.46 allows for splice and tap of a service entrance conductors (If they were direct burial, it'd be simpler..) and will be using compression splices suitable for line side service equipment. Existing conductors are in schedule 80 pvc coming into a sub-basement through concrete foundation. Going to pull them out & sweep them into waterproof 3R J-Box "with screw cover" out from there straight shot into service rated ATS. From their service conductors will run back down through existing opening into what will then be the homes subpanel. Yes I'm splitting neutrals and grounds. There's already two buried grounding electrodes from the prior service I'll be reus