2020 NEC Secured

Aaro

Occupation
Electrician
I am an electrician at a university. I have been given the job of inspecting and reporting on how one of the projects being done by an outside contractor is doing. Because of pillars in the existing building, the decision was made to stud out the wall so that no pillars are visible. Thus the metal studs only have sheetrock on one side of the studs. The electrician started installing brackets that would work for where there is sheetrock on the other side of the wall. There is a metal brace that prohibits the box from moving back any farther. However, because there is nothing to push up against, the boxes could push back from the sheetrock. I brought this up long before there was any sheetrock on the wall. I sited the NEC 2020

110.13 (A) Mounting Electrical equipment shall be firmly secured to the surface on which it is mounted.

I also sited

110.12 Mechanical execution of work. Electrical equipment shall be installed in a neat and workmanlike manner.

The electrical contractor claimed that the ears on the receptacle were part of the mounting. Is the contractor correct? Are there any other codes that would be helpful? Thank you for your input.

Elect117

Occupation
Engineer E.E. P.E.
Do you have photos?

There is a metal brace that prohibits the box from moving back any farther. However, because there is nothing to push up against, the boxes could push back from the sheetrock. I brought this up long before there was any sheetrock on the wall. I sited the NEC 2020

I don't really understand the layout here. Is the concern the conduit/wiring method? Or a outlet box? Or some other type of box?

The box is sticking out and not flush? Or the box is flush but improperly secured?

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Sounds like they are using something similar to Caddy C23 and will probably be fine but you can suggest that they use TSGB's

110.12 is hardly enforceable

Aaro

Occupation
Electrician