208 V Single Phase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

g9s0x

I'm new to the boards so let me first introduce myself. I work as a telecommunications engineer, particularly with central office-type exchange equipment at the network level. As such I'm inherently involved with inside plant power from a functional standpoint. Most of my power work is in the -48VDC realm, as well as DC microelectronics. I am not quite as familiar with AC, and have a few questions that I thought would best be addressed by the members of this forum.

Say I have equipment that needs 220 VAC single phase @ 50 Hz, and the inside plant AC is wired as 208Y/120. From a functional and theoretical point of view, is there any way to generate single-phase 208 V or 240 V from a three phase configuration, not necessarily wye? The equipment has some tolerance built in to accept anywhere from 190 to 250 V single phase. My initial assumption is that L-L voltages will still be three phase and won't work. The only single-phase is 120 V L-N, but this is not sufficient. I have seen the split-phase delta configuration that will generate 240 V but this is a line to line (L-L) measurement so it is still three phase correct? The equipment expects single phase so the 240 V it's expecting is measured from line to neutral (single phase) opposed to line to line (three phase).

Am I getting that correctly? In other words, does L-L measurement versus L-N measurement bear any indication on the number of phases involved? 120 V L-N is single phase, but 240 V L-L is still single phase?