240.21 (C) (4) 250.30(A)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Occupation
Inspector
looking for clarification regarding the separately derived system that is not protected by overload devise. System must be isolated?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
I can't think of any SDS that isn't protected in some manner by an overload means of some type.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
You can have overload built into a transformer but I think you mean overcurrent protective device, which is not quite the same as overload.

Not sure what you mean by making its way back to the panel thru bonding. Are you talking about a ground fault?

Occupation
Inspector
I appreciate yawls’ help. But let me explain.

I am a real estate inspector. This morning while inspecting a home for my client, in the country. I have the main service panel cover off. I notice that the service lugs are double tapped. A 2nd set of wires, service wires leave the cabinet, threw a conduit, into the ground. So, I’m wondering? where the hell are these wires headed. I look around and about 200FT out in the pasture stands an old dewlapped pole barn. I’m thinking NO, No way. So, I wonder on down to the barn. Sure, enough I locate an old conduit. You would assume that this was an abandoned system. BUT NO. this is a live system. I open up what I thought was going to be a sub-panel for the barn, but it was gutted. There were no breakers or disconnects in the box. It was basically being used as a junction box, with one string of 120v running over to a work bench and a 50FT length of Romex hanging over the trusses with a 220v plug, I assume is being used for a welder Etc.