240 volt GFCI no neutral tripping

Status
Not open for further replies.

jyork89

I have a well pump on a 240volt 20 amp GFCI breaker that will not hold. It held on a regular 2p20 for over a year. This well pump set up has a bladder with a solenoid pressure reg valve, controller with a capacitor, and about 500 feet of total length for conductor. I have about .2 amps between phases on start up. (27.38A and 27.58A). The pump is a 3 wire (two hots and a yellow). I have continuity between both legs plus both legs and the yellow wire. Ohms between legs is 13.8 ohms, leg 1 - yellow is 11 ohms, leg 2 to yellow is 3ohms. I have zero experience with well pumps let alone pumps with controllers with a capacitor and bladder solenoid pressure reg valve controlling the pump.

Any and all assistance will be greatly appreciated.

mbrooke

Batteries Included
Occupation
Technician
I have bout 500 feet of total length for conductor.

At 500 feet line to ground capacitance is likely to cause inadvertent trips.

However, depending on what size wire is run to the well pump you may need to GFCI or GFP breaker in order to trip for a ground fault at the pump.

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired
Yes, why is it on a GFCI?

Ground Fault Circuit Interruption looks for ground faults. They don’t care what the resistance of each load wire is to the other. They don’t care if a capacitor is in the circuit or how it’s controlled. It is looking for a current imbalance on the load.

Meg the wires to ground or earth.

mbrooke

Batteries Included
Occupation
Technician
Yes, why is it on a GFCI?

Ground Fault Circuit Interruption looks for ground faults. They don’t care what the resistance of each load wire is to the other. They don’t care if a capacitor is in the circuit or how it’s controlled. It is looking for a current imbalance on the load.

Meg the wires to ground or earth.

Megging won't measure pico farads to earth.

mbrooke

Batteries Included
Occupation