250.30 (C) Confusion

awoody19

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
I have a project in which the customer is being supplied a primary service. So they are owning the service transformer. I'm studying the mike holt grounding book and came across this graphic. Do I need to be running an equipment grounding conductor with my service conductors as is shown below? Or since it is a "service" transformer, am I not required to have the SSBJ?

1703606168431.png

Last edited:

awoody19

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
See the Exception in 250.30(A)(2). A SSBJ may not be needed.
Thanks, so I'm reading on into 250.32 (B). My customer owned transformers have overcurrent protection, so I believe I am to comply with 250.32 (B) (1) and supply an equipment grounding conductor with my feeder into the building? 250.32(B)(1) exception 2 is making me do a double take though.

awoody19

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Thanks, so I'm reading on into 250.32 (B). My customer owned transformers have overcurrent protection, so I believe I am to comply with 250.32 (B) (1) and supply an equipment grounding conductor with my feeder into the building? 250.32(B)(1) exception 2 is making me do a double take though.
And apologies, my original question was confusing. Basically I am trying to determine if I need to pull the green ground wire for one reason or another. I don't deal with too many customer owned transformers and looking to make sure its right.

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer
250.32(B)(1) exception 2 is there precisely to allow you to omit the EGC if you instead follow the section Augie cited.

Strathead

Occupation
Electrician/Estimator/Project Manager/Superintendent
And apologies, my original question was confusing. Basically I am trying to determine if I need to pull the green ground wire for one reason or another. I don't deal with too many customer owned transformers and looking to make sure its right.