3-hole outlet in apt. ungrounded?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jbeale

I'm moving into a new apartment. The building was built in the 1950s but (allegedly) inspected and updated "to code" in early 1990s.

I noticed one of the electrical sockets was hanging out of the wall slightly, and looking behind it I could see that (1) it was not connected in any way to any metal box and (2) it was hanging by only two wires (that is, there was no ground wire). This was a modern three-prong outlet, which I think should be grounded, yes?

Currently this city (Mountain View CA) calls out the NEC 1999 in their building electrical code.
http://bpc.iserver.net/codes/mtnview/_DATA/TITLE08/ARTICLE_IV__ELECTRICAL_CODE_/SEC__8_70__National_Electrical.html

The landlord claims the apartment is "up to code", I'd just like your confirmation that this situation cannot possibly be up to code. I am not a licensed electrician in any region so of course I will not be performing any needed repair work myself.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Re: 3-hole outlet in apt. ungrounded?

being "up to code" does not mean it meets the latest version of the code.

in essence, it means it met the code at the time of installation. the code recognizes that the code changes over time, and allows that new work is to be done per the current version, while not requiring remedial work to change existing installations. this is commonly called grandfathering.

think of it this way - the vast majority of your electrical appliances only have two prongs anyway.

unless there is some reason to believe otherwise, I would accept your landlord's statement at face value.

I am a little concerned about being able to see inside the outlet boxes though. if you can see inside them, you or a child might well be able to stick something inside the box he or she should not.

[ July 14, 2005, 04:52 PM: Message edited by: petersonra ]

Originally posted by petersonra: