3 phase y 100 amp subpanel.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ram11379

Let me start by saying this is my first post and I am generaly a residential electrician specializing in old home rewires. With that said I have been asked to run a 100 amp subpanel for a new computer room at a local school. All circuits in panel will be 120 volt.

The closest panel to tap off of is 160' away and is a 3 phase y 225 amp max panel. I am thinking that I need to run a 1/O AL 4 wire w/ground SE from panel to panel. SE because above the drop ceiling is packed and no room to run pipe. The breaker obviously needs to be a 3 phase y coming out and the sub panel needs to be 3 phase y main lug.

Now I ask those of you who are commercial electricians am I about to make a mistake and if so what should I be doing here. I am not very familiar with 3 phase or runs this long, as I said I am a residential electrician I am only doing this job as a favor. Any input would be appreciated.

iwire

Staff member
A few things

First, if it can be done with 'SE' it will have to be SER.

1 AWG AL or 3 AWG copper would be fine.

I question if it can be done with SE, is the building already done with NM?

I think 3 AWG/4 wire copper MC cable would be more appropriate.

ram11379

What is the difference between se and ser?
Copper is insanely priced here right now so I think Al is only option. Is #1 AL ok considering it is over 100' away? And no the existing wiring is in pipe and armored cable.

mdshunk

Yeah, you're not really going to be able to use SER in that building. You'll either have to pull MC, or build some pipe and pull conductors.

Yes, copper is expensive, but who cares? Just pass it along. It costs what it costs.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
mdshunk said:
SER is "round" SE cable, since it has an extra conductor. Since you're a resi electrician, you'd know it as "subfeed cable".

He needs 5 conductors. Does they make SER with 5 conductors?

iwire

Staff member