30 amps imbalance

chorty55

Occupation
Mechanical
On single phase installs, besides low voltage, not efficient, and alot of amperage on the neutral, what's the issue with having a panel be more then 30amps imbalanced?

OldBroadcastTech

Occupation
Retired Broadcast Technician
Well, I'm not a practicing electrician, but I feel I've picked up enough knowledge in 60+ years to ask the following questions:

1) How does 'efficiency' enter into this ?

2-a) If the feeders are properly sized, why does 30 amps of neutral current matter ?

2-b) With properly sized feeders, why would there be a concern about 'low voltage' ?

Moderators: If you feel this post is out-of-line, feel free to delete it.

Thank you.

karn

Occupation
Electrician
To answer your question, and my best guess:

1). An imbalanced load causes the neutral to carry excess current. If the neutral is not sized to handle this, it can overheat, leading to potential failure, electrical fires, or damage to equipment.

2.) The unbalanced load can cause significant voltage drops or fluctuations on the overloaded phase, affecting the performance of connected devices, potentially causing equipment malfunctions or premature wear.

3.) When one leg of a single-phase system is carrying significantly more current than the other, it increases losses due to resistance, lowering the overall system efficiency.

4). If the imbalance is significant, it can strain the transformer supplying the system. This can lead to overheating or damage to the transformer, reducing its lifespan or causing failure.

5). The imbalance might also affect the power factor, increasing demand charges or leading to penalties in commercial settings.

With that being said: someone correct me if I'm wrong, but it sounds like you're worried about overloading the neutral, voltage fluctuations, etc.