3PH Wye Configuration - Safety Switch Wiring Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

customfab4x4

Occupation
Engineer
Greetings,

I would greatly appreciate any insights from the knowledgeable 3PH high voltage folks. I'm an engineer and have years of experience in 1PH residential and solar power applications but 3PH is a bit new to me. I'm working with my electrical company to bring in 3PH Wye configuration for my business to run several different 480V machines. I have the 3PH on my property at this point and now I'm responsible for wiring from the socket meter.

I'm adding a 600V 400A safety switch at the pole to then run the lines underground to my buildings. However, I've never done this before.

I was looking at 3 pole safety switches. But my understanding is that the Wye configuration takes 5 wires (3 hots, neutral and ground).

Can someone help me on the safety switch specs? I'm only seeing 3-pole 600V 400A safety switches which I'm trying to buy locally at a discount (used). I'm not clear if a 3-pole is appropriate under my situation given the neutral and grounds?? And if a 3-pole switch is ok to us then how to the neutral and ground lead play into things for panel wiring at the buildings.

Sorry, I feel like a bit of a dumbass for asking this question. I promise that I'll learn quick!

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
given the very basic nature of your questions, I suggest getting help from a competent electrician.

in any case, you would not normally disconnect the N or G legs. Just the three hot wires.

as for wiring the thing up, the exact wiring would depend on several factors and is best left to a competent electrician to handle for you.

it is not worth killing or injuring yourself or someone else to save a few bucks.

As a special hint, there is nothing real different from wiring up 3 phase power than single phase power, the rules and the physics are the same.

Tulsa Electrician

Occupation
Electrician
You will need a netural kit with the disc.