400 AMP Service Suply

Status
Not open for further replies.

shansen

New User
Occupation
Architecture
Hi all,
First off I am an architect doing my own owner-builder drawings. I have done a ton of research and read through the forum but apologies up front for any architectural ignorance I have or my colleagues may have presented in the past.

I have designed a small house but all-electric (heated floors, AC, hot tub, EV charging, extra 220 for welder, 30&50 amp trailer plugs, and the usual stuff). I will also have solar to offset the total usage (I have factored in the 120 rule for this). Because of the large amount of electrical usage, my calculation totals 350 amps.
I used the old code calculation of (((Total load - 10,000 - Largest Appliance) *0.4) + 10,000 + Largest Appliance) / 240 rather than the new way of calculating based on the appliance's actual load. This seemed simpler and would over calculate (I have plans to add on later so over calculating now is ok).

Based on the definition that a continuous load is something that will operate for more than 3 hours the only things I have are EV charging, Lighting, and maybe the oven (everything else should cycle on/off in less than 3 hours).

The building department has accepted my drawings and I have a permit. The electrical company just got back to me with my line extension from the street. I have requested a 400 amp service but they are going to provide 320 because the 400 amp panel has a 320 amp meter base. Based on all of my research a 400 amp panel can handle 400 amps of non-continuous load. Would I need 400 amps of service to use 400 amps of non-continuous power or will the 320 suffice? When I talked to the electrical company the designer doing my extension drawings seemed confused about how much power to provide.

Thank you for any help you are able to provide,
Steven

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
320A is the standard meter base for a "400A" service.