480V Panel Installed by DIY Homeowner

GrrrrCxA

Occupation
Mechanical Engineer
Hey all, mechanical engineer here, looking for input from experienced electrical workers on if this situation constitutes a minor side-eye or a major red flag in terms of safety:

A personal acquaintance, who has done a decent amount of self-taught DIY electrical work in his home over the last decade or so, is also the owner of a small manufacturing business. Business needed a new air compressor, and a new 480V panel to serve it, which he decided to install himself. Work is completed already, no incident when first energized, so presumably he connected the wires in the right places and didn’t short anything out.

As an engineer who has worked near energized electrical equipment for most of my career (inspections, power measurement, equipment testing), but is definitively not qualified to perform electrical work directly, I have nonetheless had electrical safety trainings up the wazoo. The thought of doing work around a 480V panel installed by some DIYer with no experience beyond residential seems kinda concerning, and while I’m not likely to get anywhere near this guys work myself, his staff certainly are.

Curious if you all would consider this a potentially significant hazard, or just a “probably not the smartest move, but what’s done is done” sort of scenario. Thanks in advance for the input.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
I have found that a fair number of diy installations are done well, maybe better than the average pro, and certainly better than the average professional hack. Other diy jobs are a mess

It is not real hard to learn how to install just about anything electrical if you take the time to learn.

So I guess my answer is unless you have some specific issues in mind, it would be real hard to tell there is a problem or not.