6 lead motor & VFD

Status
Not open for further replies.

joebell

We are attempting to connect a 6 lead 460 volt 100 HP part winding motor to a VFD. We connected leads 1 & 7 to T1, 2 & 8 to T2 and 3 & 9 to T3. We are getting fault codes on the drive and was told that the breaker in the panel tripped when the drive was put in bypass. I'm wondering if this motor and drive are compatible or if we have the motor wired correctly?

sii

At first glance I'm wondering why, if it's a six-lead motor, you have leads numbered above six. I have no experience with part-winding motors but I don't believe you can connect one to a VFD.

Cow

Occupation
Electrician
I've seen 3, 9, 12 lead motors but I don't recall ever seeing a six lead.

We always wire part wind start motors to the RUN diagram when using a VFD. I googled and didn't get any noticeable hits for 6 lead. My ugly's only shows 9 lead motors too...

Besoeker

We are attempting to connect a 6 lead 460 volt 100 HP part winding motor to a VFD. We connected leads 1 & 7 to T1, 2 & 8 to T2 and 3 & 9 to T3. We are getting fault codes on the drive and was told that the breaker in the panel tripped when the drive was put in bypass. I'm wondering if this motor and drive are compatible or if we have the motor wired correctly?
Are you sure it's part winding?
Most of the six terminal motors I've seen have had both ends of the three stator windings brought out to terminals. This allows the motor to be connected in either star (wye) or delta. Can be used for Star-delta starting or for two different operating voltages.

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer