800A 480V Breaker Panel - Bond to structure or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zach.bes

Hey everyone,

Just passed my CA Journeyman test and have a lot more responsibility. And I like to do things correctly so I figured I would consult with the experts.

I'm installing (2) 800A 480V MLO Breaker Panels that are fed from a 2000A Main service switchgear (Protected via 800A breakers of course) and the boss and I have been going back and forth in regards to properly grounding/bonding these panels.

Each panel is fed via parallel 600MCM with 1/O EGC's. The panels are roughly 12ft from the structure I-beams (grounding electrode).

What do we need to do to properly and safely ground/bond these panels?

Boss says 1/O bond to I-Beam

I say 3/O bond to I-Beam. Using formula from 2014 NEC 250.102

I also don't think we need to bond these AT ALL to the I-Beam since they are sub panels. We don't want objectionable current, right?

What are your thoughts?

I'm new to this so forgive my lack of knowledge.
I always keep my 2014 NEC with me but it can be confusing at times.

Thanks.

Zach

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
All that you need is the EGC within the feeder. You can bond it to the steel if you want but it's IMO a waste of time and money.

jumper

To add to what Infinity posted.

The I beam should have already been bonded from the MDP or switchgear.

If used as part of the GES, it would be a 3/0 using T250.66.

If just be being bonded it would be a 3/0 using T250.102(C)(1), which you posted above, using the formula from note 1. This a supply side jumper from the MDP.

However, if you ran a jumper from the sub panel to steel this just be an extraneous/unneeded load side jumper and 250.102(D) says use T250.122 which gives you a 1/0.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)