800amp building service sitting in water

Occupation
Facilities and Equipment Maintainer
To preface this, I'm not an electrician. I am however scared of getting fried or having one of the guys get injured or killed out on the floor.

So the building I work in has a 800amp panel that's sitting in an area that is constantly wet. What does the NEC say about main power service sitting in water. Not that it matters but the water fluctuates between an 1/8th of an inch to 1" where it puddles around the cabinet. Bottom of the cabinet is constantly wet and is rusting if that matters (I'm thinking it might)

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
As long as the live electrical parts are not submerged by one inch of water (and I can't envision that happening), it is not likely to create a shock hazard. However, if an electrician needs to investigate an issue with the panel while it is energized, standing in an inch of water would make that job more dangerous to the worker.

If the bottom of the cabinet is rusting, you do have a maintenance issue. For starters, do you know why there is water in this room? What efforts have been made to prevent water from getting into the room? How old is this panel and, aside from rust forming on the bottom, what is its overall condition? Would the building's owner be willing to consider replacing the panel with one more modern, one that can be mounted on the wall?

Occupation
Facilities and Equipment Maintainer