Adding meters off a tap

Tsull048

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Hey I just got my license a few months ago. I've been doing service work for many years I didn't do work that required inspection often. I have a job where there are 2 panels that are not in the same room or near the meters. The customer wants the panels to be metered. There is a 200 amp fused main switch for the building. From the switch the conductors go into a trough and they tapped the conductors to go to the meter, then back down into their respective panels. I wanted to use 1 existing meter socket, come off the load side, exit the enclosure to feed a new feed through breaker. I would do all the bonding and gec there. I want this to serve as service disconnect/ocpd. That way the existing uf on the load side of the breaker would be a feeder and I can avoid a massive rewiring project. When I was getting prices from the guy at the supply who Is an intelligent guy he said aren't we putting the breaker ahead of the meter nowadays? I searched through 230 and it looks like the meter can be ahead of the disconnect.

I just want to make sure I'm doing this right and he made me start questioning what I wanted to do. Am I missing something? Thanks for any help.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Someone else summed it up well the other day by stating as far as the NEC is concerned the meter is just a hump in the conductor. You can pretty much put them anywhere in the circuit.
If I understand your plan correctly there may be a flaw. Once you add the disconnect the load side will need neutral-ground separation thus a 4 wire cable.
On the other hand, I see nothing that prevents you from adding a meter in the existing cable as is IF POCO has no objections,.

farmantenna

do mean individual meters for each panel? Where I live I have never seen the meter after a disconnect. Only when there is a CT cabinet is it a cold sequence switching arrangement

ggunn