adjusting ampacity... it’s the umpire in me

Status
Not open for further replies.

Srv52761

Occupation
Energy Manager
First some background. I am not an electrician. I am an “energy manager”. I analyze energy consumption for a school district and try to figure out ways to save the district either energy usage or cost. Sometimes things I suggest to the district entails adding or modifying circuits, so I joined this forum to ask questions.

But, my 2nd job was a rules enforcer. My junior year in college I began umpiring to help pay tuition. I found I really enjoyed it. Until arthritis took its toll I had been a certified referee/umpire in softball, baseball, basketball, volleyball, and soccer, officiating sports for 45 years. I took it seriously, re-reading the rulebooks weekly during the season, and with each reading I would try to envision more and more exotic scenarios and figure out how to make the call. I actually “have a rule”.

Imagine my excitement when I discovered this forum and the NEC; a book of rules 1000 pages thick and a forum with its main focus of trying to interpret those rules when new scenarios arise.

Each time I read a post I look up the code on my pdf copy of the NEC, then I do a search of related terms and see what other rules may apply. Then, I do an internet search of Mike Holt videos to try to gain more insight, but... Sometimes that leads me to wondering, “what if...?”

Recent posts about derating ampacity because of bundling ccc in conduit or raceway led me to that wondering.

Moderators, I realize this is designed as a nuts and bolts forum to help practitioners with actual events in the field. As this is a hypothetical for my own clarification please feel free to shut it down if you think it violates the TOS.

The relevant codes
310.15(B)(3)(a)
Adjustment Factors.