Advantages to Washington State Masters License

Status
Not open for further replies.
I turned out as a Washington state JW in 1999. After a 7 year stint in Hawaii as an Electrical Contractor, I moved back to the PNW. I am pursuing the Master's Licensure but would like some advise as to what kind of company might hire a Master Electrician and what the advantages of that over say an Admin. license. I am looking to get out of the field full time and would like to pursue jobs more in the engineering or administrative end. any advise?
Thanks

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
A master is a Journeyman + Administrator combined. Its two separate tests, the masters is a harder administrator test. An electrical contractor must have a full time designated admin or master.
To a non electrician, the "Master" sounds more impressive than "administrator".
Work is very slow on the residential side, some what slower on the commercial side.
As far as engineering/admin I can't advise.

westernexplorer

An Administrator cannot work in the field, unless they also hold a Journeyman Electrician license. A Master Electrician can act as the Administrator and work in the field without obtaining any additional license.

You can take the administarors exam without any electrical field experience, hence the reason you cant work in the field making an installation.

To take the Master Electrician exam, which is a bit harder, you must first be a license Journeyman Electrician for 4 years to qualify....

Washington State Master Electrician
Oregon General Supervising Electrician