All LEDs in House Flicker In Sync - PoCo No Help

jaronbrass

Occupation
Engineer
Troubleshooting a particularly interesting problem. As background, I'm an engineer and a Lutron-certified sales engineer. This issue is occurring in my primary residence, which I use to demonstrate Lutron's lighting and shading solutions to prospective customers. This issue is having an impact on my business since it's difficult to showcase the benefits of these technologies when they misbehave.

We built this house with a reasonably well-known builder in Texas last year. We occupied in late November. During one of our final walkthroughs, we noticed some intermittent (2-3 second) flickering on the builder-grade chandelier installed in our foyer. At the time, we reported it on the punch list, and the electrical contractors and our third-party home inspector found no issues.

We come to find out that ALL lights in the house flicker in sync, for about 2-3 seconds, and then stop. The time between flickering is random, but you can be in one room and observe the different circuits adjacent all flicker in sync.

House is serviced by Pedernales Electric Cooperative (PEC) with 200A service. Main panel is Eaton with BR breakers. 240V breakers for the dryer, AC, oven, and sub-panel (90A) live on the outside of the house. The interior sub-panel is also Eaton with BR PON breakers. Lighting/socket circuits are 15A with AFCI breakers per code. Other circuits are 20A with a mix of standard breakers or combination AFCI/GFCI breakers depending on the service area. Overall, interior wiring looks pretty good.

We've replaced all mechanical toggle switches in the house with Lutron RadioRA2 components. We're using RRD-HN6BRL hybrid keypads, RRD-6ND/10ND dimmers, RRD-PRO dimmers in a few spots (these will replace the 6/10ND over time), and RRD-8ANS switches for things like ceiling and exhaust fans. Tabletop lamps are connected to RRD-3PD dimmers. Neutrals are connected everywhere.