AMPS in the cold water pipe

Status
Not open for further replies.

fletcher

I am a home inspector and one of my friends posted this photo on a home inspector board.

http://www.homeinspector.org/forum/forums/storage/8/5587/Amps.JPG

hope the link works.

If not, this is a photo of an amp meter (that encompasses the cold water pipe) showing a reading of 9.33

This is not a test that most home inspectors do so we don't know if this is a typical condition or not. Some guys claim some amps in the pipe is "normal" and some say there should be no amps at all.

The issue of "black copper" pipes were brought up. Some of us Home Inspectors think the black pipe means there is voltage running through the pipe causing the pipe to turn black.

I knew I could get the right answer here. Any thoughts?

Last edited:

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
fletcher said:
If not, this is a photo of an amp meter (that encompasses the cold water pipe) showing a reading of 9.33
I can’t tell from the photo, so let me ask. What scale is the meter set at? Is this 9.33 amps, or 9.33 milliamps, or 9,330 amps? There should be no amps on the pipe at all. But if the reading is much lower than one amp, then I would guess it is a stray reading that does not indicate a real problem.
fletcher said:
Some of us Home Inspectors think the black pipe means there is voltage running through the pipe causing the pipe to turn black.
Sorry, but that is utter nonsense. The pipe was either black when it was manufactured, or it turned black due to the normal process of rusting.

M. D.

Maybe there should be no current however, with the multi-grounded neutral system there is almost always going to be some current flowing as it is a parallel path...

Now to find out if it is coming from this house shut the main off if the reading remains the same it is coming from elsewhere

fletcher

I am double checking with the original poster to see if he means milli amps or not.