Breaking In

Status
Not open for further replies.

joeyww12000

I posted a thread about moving up and laying out jobs earlier this week and I appreciate the feedback. Upon reading your inputs I am curious how you guys as contractors are doing in todays current economy? As said earlier I have 5 years experience, 3 residential, 2 commercial. I did not mention I do have my restricted contractors license. Here in the state of GA you have two licenses, restricted and nonrestricted. Restricted being 200a and under, and nonrestricted 200a and above. We do not have Journeyman and Masters licenses anymore. I have had my restricted license for a year now and havent done one job yet, but this is do to economy and just breaking into the industry in a town or area with established contractors. Any suggestions on how to get started? I have to work my 40hr job and try to do this on the side. Just tired of having a license and it going to waste.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I will tll you that it is a bad time evn for established contractors. This is not a good time to start unfortunately.

I can only speak for myself so-- When I worked with a contractor all the GC got to know my work and my dedication to doing the job correctly. I paid attention to details and kept the jobs running smoothly. The GC were the ones that pushed me to go on my own. They encouraged me til I got the nerve to make the plunge.

So I am saying do the best you can so everyone gets to see your work. Give it time --- when the time is right you will know.

cschmid

The economy is tight right now..I do sense an you are restless and that restlessness is double edged sword..just because you have a license and stuff unless you have some cash tucked away for the rainy season which is now contracting in a one man shop is an opening for bankrutcy..You could do more damage to your reputation then good..