Cemf

Status
Not open for further replies.

K2500

What is CEMF in relation to DC motors, how does it affect motor speed? Also I'm reading that an open field winding in shunt wound motors will cause excesive speed. Ultimately destroying the motor, why is that? I'm thinking that less field current = lesser magnetic field+ slower motor. I don't get it. I'm just getting into my new motors book, and the company master(my answer man) is out for the next few months.

rattus

Counter Electromotive Force:

Counter Electromotive Force:

CEMF is an emf (voltage) generated in the armature of a DC motor which opposes the applied voltage thereby reducing the armature current to whatever level is required to satisfy the load requirements of the motor.

FYI, the generators used on older autos would try to spin if the regulator contacts stuck and the engine was not running. That is, a shunt motor can be used as a DC generator and vice-versa.

The explanation of the speed characteristics of DC motors is somewhat complicated, but suffice it to say that the speed of a shunt wound motor is inversely proportional to the current in the field winding.

A simple explanation is that lowering the field current lowers the shunt field and the armature speed increases in an effort to maintain the CEMF.

K2500

rattus said:
CEMF is an emf (voltage) generated in the armature of a DC motor which opposes the applied voltage thereby reducing the armature current to whatever level is required to satisfy the load requirements of the motor.

FYI, the generators used on older autos would try to spin if the regulator contacts stuck and the engine was not running. That is, a shunt motor can be used as a DC generator and vice-versa.

The explanation of the speed characteristics of DC motors is somewhat complicated, but suffice it to say that the speed of a shunt wound motor is inversely proportional to the current in the field winding.