Charging for travel time

Status
Not open for further replies.

patricknola

Electrical contractor/Generac Dealer
Occupation
Electrical contractor.
Hey Guys, I'm an electrical contractor in New Orleans,La. and I've recently started servicing generac generators. I'm getting calls from all parts of the state, sometimes an hour or two drive away. I'm trying to figure out how to calculate/charge customers for time/distance when they are outside of my usual jurisdiction. Thanks

gadfly56

Occupation
Professional Engineer, Fire & Life Safety
Hey Guys, I'm an electrical contractor in New Orleans,La. and I've recently started servicing generac generators. I'm getting calls from all parts of the state, sometimes an hour or two drive away. I'm trying to figure out how to calculate/charge customers for time/distance when they are outside of my usual jurisdiction. Thanks
You have two choices. Bury the time in your fee structure ($xxx dollars for the first hour, $yyy per half hour additional) or put it up front. If the customer balks, explain that your employees get paid while the truck is on the road and you should not eat that time. They are free to look elsewhere.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
IMO, your hour y rate should not be any different for travel time versus work time.
Overhead like depreciation, workers comp, and insurance are the same whether you are stuck in traffic, cruising or electricing.

Of course, you could also just consider it as commuting, and travel for free.

Coppersmith

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Since you have such a large service area, I would use a separate travel charge which is calculated per client based on mileage or time.

If you combine travel costs into your labor rate it gets very messy. If you are forced to quote a labor rate, you don't want the travel charge making you sound overly expensive.