circuit load

Status
Not open for further replies.

wyatt

I'm new to the trade. When laying out a circuit in a one-family home. 2203(B)(9) says 180w per outlet. Am I wright in thinking I can put as many as I want as long as I dont go over the 3w per sq. foot ie. 100 outlets on 15a circuit per 480sq. foot. And what about light load? fixture are not bought at rough in and exact load not known. what do you older and wiser ones do

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
Re: circuit load

When you perform a service calculation for a house (or any other facility), the idea is to make sure there is at least enough power to handle the customer?s needs. It?s ok to have more power than the calculation shows is needed, but not ok to have less.

You are confusing the ?watts per square foot? part of the calculation with the design of branch circuits. You need to allow the owner a minimum of 3 watts per square foot to cover lights and certain other loads as described in Article 220. The conventional method of designing a branch circuit is to convert the 180 VA per receptacle, at 120 volts, to 1.5 amps per receptacle. That would mean you should not go over 10 receptacles on a 15 amp circuit. However, there is also a rule that says a branch circuit should not be loaded over 80%. This would limit a 15 amp branch circuit to a 12 amp load, or to a maximum of 8 receptacles.

Does this give you at least a start of an answer to your question?

wyatt

I'm new at this but, 220.3(B)(10) refers me to table 220.3(A) this is were I get the 3 VA per sq. foot.

charlie

Charlie, I normally agree with you but I think you are off base on this one. I had a customer one time that wanted receptacles every six feet instead of 12 feet. Should I have put in twice as many circuits? These were in the family room, living room and bedrooms. Just because he wanted about twice as many receptacles didn't mean he had twice as much load.