Class 2 Wiring in Concrete Outdoor Furniture

Status
Not open for further replies.

kas246

Hi,

This is my first post here so I figured I'd give you a little bit of background on myself before I get to my question. I'm a mechanical engineer from Pittsburgh, PA who recently moved from a position in the automotive industry to working as part of a design team within the outdoor furniture industry. One of my first tasks here is to work with the designers on a piece of outdoor concrete furniture with integrated LEDs. The company I work for makes a range of lighted outdoor products, but this is the first in the concrete product line. Also, I noticed there is a low-voltage section of the forum, but my question is also code-related, so I hope this is in the correct place... please let me know if not.

My question surrounds the wiring method, and what is acceptable/desired. I had initially planned on casting in LFNC and running our wiring through that, but we are very limited on space, and I have some confusion regarding whether or not we are allowed to encase 90deg connectors in concrete (2017 NFPA 70 356.42). If I cannot encase a 90deg connector, that method won't work. Because of our lack of space, the question of casting a CL2 cable directly into the concrete has come up, but I have not found a CL2 cable specifically rated for concrete encasement, and I'm hesitant to go this route for a number of reasons. The third option would be to fabricate a complex metal enclosure that would meet our space requirements and include a "conduit" for the wiring, and the whole unit could be placed in the mold during the concrete pour. I really like this idea, primarily from a manufacturing standpoint, but I'm not sure if it's going to fly when it comes to the code.