Colorado Master Electrician of Licence

Status
Not open for further replies.
As this is my first post on this forum I feel it is appropriate to introduce myself a little first.

I am 45 years old. I began working in the electrical industry at age 10 for my father. At the time he was mainly a lineman sub contractor but by the time I left home for the Army he was sub contracting all kinds of industrial power and telecom work for the paper companies in Michigan. After 4 years in the Army I went to college for electrical engineering and worked in the field until 2011 when I completed my education with a Masters in Networking. I now run a small IT company in Mesa county Colorado. We have expanded into structured cabling, low voltage, and a lot of automation over the last 2 years. As things have started to really get rolling we have had opportunities to bid all of the electrical work for a number of projects.

So I am trying to get an electrical contractors licence. I have a master electrician that is willing to join my team and sign on as the master. My problem is structuring, I do not have enough experience to be confident in putting together a legal, fair, and equitable arrangement.

Does the Master have to be an officer of my LLC?
Do I need a contract with the Master beyond the state required documentation?
What kind of compensation would be considered the "standard" for this kind of arrangement?
Is there a limit to how much work one Master can be held responsible for? (IE: Is there a Master to JW ratio.)
What should my expectations be for the Masters role within the company?
What are the questions I am not asking?

active1

Some of those questions would be better to refer to the Electrical Board:
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Electrical

When you make your agreements keep in mind CO Electrical rule 6.6 Loss of a responsible master.
You have 20 days to register a new master or your electrical license will become inactive.