current on an xray machine

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimingram

An existing, diagnostic xray machine is being relocated from one clinic to another. I have not worked on a xray machine this big before.
I will need to install a separate switch in the service switchgear (480V). I will also install a 50 KVA transformer in the xray room (no other place to put it). It will be a 1 phase 240V w/ neutral secondary. The neutral will not be used with the xray machine.

The inspector is requiring me to verify the service can handle the new load of the xray machine. I'm confused as to exactly what that load will be.

The specs on the xray generator are:
maximum KW 37.5
KW @ 100KV @ 0.1 sec 30
Momentary line current 345 amps

The xray tech told me the "resting load" would be around 20 amps.

What do I use to determine the load this xray machine will add to the service.

Jim Ingram

gar

Occupation
EE
080415-2019 EST USA

I can not answer your question and I have no experience with the device.

First, call the x-ray machine manufacturer and ask what size transformer should be used and its internal impedance.

Some broad scope comments. The peak ampere rating is 345 A whatever this means. We know the x-ray machine has to produce an output voltage in excess of 10,000 V. That is about the lowest voltage at which x-rays are generate. For higher energy x-rays the voltage will be higher.

One reference is http://www.microsemi.com/micnotes/apt9904.pdf for a unit near your size. If I read them correctly they may be referring to near continous duty. You can do other Internet searching.