DC voltage drop?

Status
Not open for further replies.

anbm

What's standard for DC voltage drop - branch circuiting? Is it still 3% as AC per NEC? Thanks!

dereckbc

Staff member
anbm said:
What's standard for DC voltage drop - branch circuiting? Is it still 3% as AC per NEC? Thanks!
The NEC is not a standard period. It is a set of minimum safety requirements. Further there is NO requirement in the NEC for voltage drop for either AC or DC.

What you are asking is a design specification and practice. The NEC will NOT give you guidance to that respect. For that you will need to turn to IEEE or an industry standard.

I work in the Telecom industry and we have very strict DC voltage drop requirements for 48, 24, and 12 VDC systems.

Last edited:

anbm

Derekbc,

So what is the minimum safety requirements for 12VDC - VD if you know?
(if my load is 20A, 130ft of feeder), then I can calculate the wire size based on this minimum requirement?

bphgravity

Voltage drop is more of a design consideration than a safety issue. It's a loss in energy.

It's usually up to designer to determine how much voltage drop is acceptable and/or the manufacturer of the equipment being served will specify min and max connected voltages.

physis

You need to look at voltage drop in relation to how it affects your circuit.

Mathmatically and conceptually voltage drop is the product of current and resistance:

IR=V

or Current times Resistance equals Voltage. The voltage in this case is being called voltage drop, but there is no difference. The voltage across 130' of feeder, or 260' of conductor is given by IR or Current times Resistance.

Being as how I,R and V are always related, the current will be reduced to V/R, or Voltage divided by Resistance. Or:

I=V/R

The resistance in this case wont change significantly unless you get the conductors particularly hot.