Delta Wye transformer X0 connections

Status
Not open for further replies.
Controls engineer in automation. Long time lurker, first time poster. Working with delta wye isolation transformers, size doesn't matter for my question but I will tell you any way to paint a picture, 480V primary 240V secondary, 51kVA. I am making all my ground and bonding connections inside the transformer. I place a ground bar inside the transformer enclosure, firmly attached to the side wall. Incoming ground (EGC) goes to ground bar. Outgoing ground (SSBJ) goes to ground bar. System bonding jumper goes from X0 to ground bar. So far so good. Last connection, GEC, is supposed to go from X0 to closest (in my case) grounded plant column.

Now, it would be easy to connect the GEC to the ground bar, but the code reads that the connection is to be made to X0. That means X0 needs two connections on it, yet transformer only comes with a single attachment point. I am not an electrician so what I ask is this - do you make the GEC connection at X0 exactly as the code says, or would making it at the common ground bar which is way easier acceptable? Forgive me if this was already covered, I did search, and I'm sure it is so easy it will give any electrician a chuckle, but I don't mind. I'd rather be correct than liable.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
FYI::: From 250.30, in part:
This (grounding electrode conductor) connection shall be made at the same point on the separately derived system where the system bonding jumper is connected.
Exception No. 1: If the system bonding jumper specified in 250.30(A)(1) is a wire or busbar, it shall be permitted to connect the grounding electrode conductor to the equipment grounding terminal, bar, or bus if the equipment grounding terminal, bar, or bus is of sufcient size for the separately derived system.

FYI::: From 250.30, in part: