Designing large solar power system, transformer upgrade needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

PVguy

I am a pv designer and I'm having an issue with a particular job, one I've never dealt with before so I'm looking for advice. It's a relatively large residential system, about 30 kW DC, and the utility is saying we need to spend ~$20,000 to upgrade the customer's transformer which is currently rated at ~13 kVA. How much would we need to downsize the system to fit the transformer, down to 13 kW AC? If we do go for the upgrade isn't the utility (SCE) obligated to pay for some or all of it? The system is so large because the customer owns a large property, it seems odd that the transformer would be so small. Does anyone else have experience dealing with this sort of thing?

Thanks for any and all help.

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Consulting Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
I am a pv designer and I'm having an issue with a particular job, one I've never dealt with before so I'm looking for advice. It's a relatively large residential system, about 30 kW DC, and the utility is saying we need to spend ~$20,000 to upgrade the customer's transformer which is currently rated at ~13 kVA. How much would we need to downsize the system to fit the transformer, down to 13 kW AC? If we do go for the upgrade isn't the utility (SCE) obligated to pay for some or all of it? The system is so large because the customer owns a large property, it seems odd that the transformer would be so small. Does anyone else have experience dealing with this sort of thing?

PV AC kW (nameplate power rating of the inverter(s)) is kVA, since its power factor is virtually 1.0. The utility may be able to tolerate a bit more throughput than the 13kVA rating of the tranny, but you'll have to ask them if and how much. And yes, I have had to replace transformers.