Detailed Conduit Routing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shamsdebout

I wanted some advice as I am fairly new in the industry as an electrical designer, I am finding that I am being asked by the architects how conduits will be routed in the building and I don't really know as much detail about that. Could someone with more experience help me out. If someone can: cover the basic methodology of conduit routing, (typically how do you route conduit for floor boxes, etc). A quick or extensive run-down would be appreciated.

bsh

Generally, routing conduit on drawings is a waste of time. They usually get installed differently than drawn. Since most conduit is fairly small (compared to 6"+ mechanical pipe) they can be installed fairly easily. There are some areas that need to be looked at carfully though.
1. When you have many conduits running together make sure there is sufficient space for the conduit.
2. Pay attention to bending radius.
3. When conduit goes through a wall or floor it can affect the structure so pay attention to those areas also.
4. Pay attention to conduit in a floor slab. Conduit crossing in a floor slab can cause a structural problem and the route may need to be noted on the drawings.
These are just a few things to consider. If possible, find an electrician and ask some questions about installation practices

peter

There are about as many ways to run conduit as there are electricians.
For instance, a common way to supply receptacles is to run your conduit on top of the wall with a drop down box at each location. A varient is to do that except the last two in the run: One goes down as usual and the last one also comes out of the box and goes over and then down to the last receptacle. Or you could just drop down to the first outlet and then tie the rest of the outlets together which will save boxes and maybe so conduit.
So, you see, there are numerous ways of running even something simple.