Did I miss anything

Status
Not open for further replies.

wireday

Occupation
Master electrician
Ive got 3/4 EMT leaving the panel for 5', then switching to MC. Each MC run if feeding a dedicated 20amp recetacle.I have 6 #10s in the 3/4 EMT,3 blacks,3 whites ,3 greens, So if Im understanding it correctly,I have 4 current carrying conductors,for a deration at 80%. Im thinking #12 would be just fine up to six CCC. My run is around 100' total.So I went to #10 wire.Im new at this derating(doing it the right way) so thats why I posted this, Thanks

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
If I understand the installation, you have three separate circuits, each with a black, a white, and a green. So the EMT has a total of 9 wires, and 6 (not 4) of them are current-carrying, for the purposes of derating. Assuming the #10's have 90C insulation (e.g., type THHN), then you start the derating with the value for #10 wire in the 90C column. That value is 40 amps. You then derate by 80%, since you are in the range of 4 to 6 CCCs. 80% of 40 is 32 amps. Since you will be using a 20 amp breaker, and since the ampacity of the wires is at least 20 amps, your installation is acceptable. Do not forget that the EGC also has to be a #10, since you upsized the ungrounded wires from #12 to #10.

By the way, I think you could have shared the green wire for the three circuits, from the panel to the point of connection to the MC cables.

wireday

Occupation
Master electrician
yes thank you Charlie, I guess also that at this point the 3/4 EMT is full,Table 9 states 10 conductors total.

kwired

Electron manager
You could have used 12 AWG unless you needed larger conductors for voltage drop or something or for some reason have 60 deg C conductors.

A 12 AWG 75 deg conductor is good for 25 amps. Derate that at 80% and you are good for 20 amps.