Difference between Voltage and Current

Status
Not open for further replies.

ronaldrc

If any Moderator thinks this might stir up to much controversy please remove it and I will
understand and have no hard feelings. This is just my personnel opinion. Thanks

What is Voltage and what is current and what are the differences.

I am not posting this to mislead any ones beliefs and if it does, Please let me apologize in advance.

I'm not an Engineer nor instructor so please take these statements with a grain of salt but please read
and think about them.

Theories of the direction of the flow of electrical current.

In the study of Electricity I like to use the analogy of water flowing through pipes from the source in this case the pump to the load, water wheel Etc, to do our work then collected and sent back to the pump again in a continuous cycle. And if AC it alternates.

Below are the 2 most popular beliefs of the direction of current flow.

(1)-Electron Flow Positive or + Pulls and Negative or – Pushes.
(2)-Conventional Flow Negative or -Pulls and Positive or + Pushes.

Either direction works with most active circuit elements as long as you stay consistent through your circuit when studying the Effects it has on your loads and voltage sources on one another.

I like to apply the Electron flow when studying the direction of flow of a current in a wire simply because of the theory behind the fleming valve invented by Ambrose Fleming which became known as the Electron vacuum tube. In this theory the electrons flow from the cathode to the anode or from the filament to the plate. It would be hard to imagine that they flow from the anode or plate to the cathode or filament since we use the term the filament boils the electrons off and are pulled to the plate by a B+ voltage or a positive voltage. The Fleming valve implies that the positive or the + terminal of a electrical voltage source pulls and the Negative pushes.

Theories of how the current flows.