Don't know if I should continue school....

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everybody.

I am a student trying to get my associates degree in electrical technology and possibly a bachelors after. I don't know if anybody has seen this (this is the only link I can find on this new product) http://money.cnn.com/magazines/business2/business2_archive/2007/04/01/8403349/

Basicaly this is what's going on they use inductive coils to tranfer magnetic waves of a certain frequency to power electronic devices without wires kind of like a tranformer. At CES 09 I forgot wich company is releasing it but they are comeing out with a cellphone platform that can charge your cellphone battery just by placing it on the platform (this is new technology right now and I dont see it effecting electricians at the moment). Eventually there is talks of making these things powerful enough for factorys and homes where you can just hang your TV up and its powered by the wall without wires. Right now they have them powerful enough to power 60 watt lightbulbs 7 feet away so you can get kind of an idea how fast this is already taking off and where it could be in the next 10 years.

Now finally for my question... Do you guys think this new technology could change the amount of employment in all electrical fields where there wouldnt be as great a need? Could the electrical field be nearly eliminated you think if this technology takes off? I am just finisishing my residential wiring certificate and it's already starting to worry me how tight this field might get in the near future. I need some reassurance if I should continue studying this field as advanced as I had planned. Don't want to go to school the next 3 years and end up not able to get a job. I have only been learning electrical 4 months now so I don't have the slightest clue how much work there is in commercial besides wiring branch circuits.

jeremysterling