Dyn5 Transformer

Status
Not open for further replies.

alansam

I am an electrical engineer in an electro mechanical contracting company.For one of our new projects,our scope included supply and installation of dedicated distribution transformer(1000 kva,11kv/415 v) along with ring main unit and feeder pillar.I was asked to get quotations from suppliers and analyse technical details of those.Here we normally use Dyn11 vector group transformers.However,one of the suppliers had quoted for Dyn5 vector group and its price was less than all the others I had got.I'm confused as to whether it is technically correct to use a Dyn5 group.

1.Also I when I'm connecting the transformer to the supply am I paralleling the transformer to other Dyn11 transformers in the grid?Here the delta side is connected to hv and lv side to load with neutral grounded.I'm asking this because i had read in an article that it is not correct to parallel transformers of different vector groups and I think I'm not paralleling this transformer when connecting to supply.

Please clarify on the above points.

Thanks & Regards,

Alan

templdl

I am an electrical engineer in an electro mechanical contracting company.For one of our new projects,our scope included supply and installation of dedicated distribution transformer(1000 kva,11kv/415 v) along with ring main unit and feeder pillar.I was asked to get quotations from suppliers and analyse technical details of those.Here we normally use Dyn11 vector group transformers.However,one of the suppliers had quoted for Dyn5 vector group and its price was less than all the others I had got.I'm confused as to whether it is technically correct to use a Dyn5 group.