Electric fence

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crash Manly

Occupation
none
Hi, I am not an electrician but have a problem maybe someone can help with?

I have a recording studio in the basement of my house. the house has steel siding.

Recently I noticed a loud clicking sound every second or so when trying to record some electric bass.

I rigged up a battery powered detector that was basically a guitar cord plugged into a small amp but with the other end free... when I touch the end of the cord I hear static and that click.

Even with the house mains off and all batteries out of wireless devices, I would hear the click.

Outside I would not hear it, until I walked close to the house. There i would hear the click loud and clear by just getting the loose cable end an inch or two from the steel siding, or touching it.

Same for our pole barn that also has steel siding. That is the click goes away when walking between the structures, but is loud and clear again when near the pole barn.

Took me a while but I finally traced the click to an electric fence on a farm a half mile away. I left a message with the farmers wife who seemed incredulous that their electric fence would cause my issues. She said she would tell her husband but as of today they haven't fixed it. I am going to go and offer to help track down the issue, probably arcing somewhere, it is a very run down farm, but i don't think it is a priority with them, and nothing says it won't break again even if they do fix it.

Anyway, I don't want to leave it in their hands...