Electrical Blue Print Reading

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saturn_Europa

Occupation
Electrician Limited License NC
I am a licensed electrician but have only worked in maintenance at water and wastewater plants. I am trying to fill in some gaps in knowledge. Does anyone know a good book or website that teaches how to read electrical blueprints. I am really good at reading electrical diagrams, relay logic, HVAC controls, ladder logic and motor controls. But find myself getting lost on industrial and residential construction blue prints. I didnt see anything specific to blue print reading at MH.

Has anyone tried the following book:

[h=1][SIZE=+1]The Electrical Plan Reading Workbook
[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]Best selling books to prepare electricians for the licensing exam[/SIZE][/h]
[SIZE=-1]An excellent workbook for training programs as it starts with symbols and abbreviations and takes the student on a walk through the floor plan, panelboard schedule, load balancing schedule, neutral balancing, riser diagrams, one-line drawings, short-circuit calculations, conductor withstand ratings, load balancing delta, load balancing wye, sizing panelboards, slab drawings, detail drawings, specifications, material designations, and much more. The workbook includes 14 exams with answers to test what has been learned. These pages are perforated for removal by the instructor. Knowledge of plan reading is now required on most electrical exams.[/SIZE]
http://www.code-electrical.com/planreading.html

Strathead

Occupation
Electrician/Estimator/Project Manager/Superintendent