EMT Conduit Bending

Status
Not open for further replies.
Where in the NEC code book does it mention that you can't bend an EMT conduit over "90" degrees?
All I can find is Table 344.24. If I have a bend at "92" degrees, is it a code violation?

iwire

Staff member
Re: EMT Conduit Bending

You can bend up to 360 degrees between pull points.

If you chose to do that all in one bend it is not a violation.

It would be odd but allowed. :D

physis

I'm not looking it up, so don't trust what I say without checking.

The only limitaion I'm aware of is 180? worth of bends between pulls or junctions.

Edit: Oops, did I say 180? Bob's right, 360?.

[ May 05, 2005, 07:23 PM: Message edited by: physis ]

physis

I've had to do it before. It's hard to do well. But sometimes it's a better solution.

So, We meet again Bob Badger!

[ May 05, 2005, 06:57 PM: Message edited by: physis ]

paul

360 is between pull points is correct. You can bend it all in one stick of pipe if you've got back to back to back 90's with a 45?x45? offset. If you do that, please post a picture of it. It's be interesting...especially with a one-shot bender. One guy here locally always says, "No more than two bends in a stick of pipe. After that, use a coupling or else you're wasting time!"

On this note, we had a guy working for us 15 years ago that could make a functional safety-pin shape out of a 10' stick of pipe. I do believe he used a hicky to make it. The guy was incredible with conduit.

physis

Twisting pipe is definately a form of art. I happen to disagree with 2 90's being some kind of limit. It might be easier on the brain, but that doesn't mean that somebody better at it can't do it faster. Although I will cut my losses to save time when it gets tricky.

hurk27

We call them goose neck bends and are very widely used to go from a horizontal run across an attic to a light box to come into the back.

Edited to add that most conduit bending books even show you how to do this bend correctly.