Emt pipe bending

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danny89

Hello guys I'm fairly new at bending emt for offsets and such.

I use the following rules.

10 degree bends equals multiple of 6
22.5 degree bends equals multiple of 2.6
30 degree bends equals multiple of 2.

So this weekend I bought a klien bender bought some 5 foot sticks of 3/4 pipe and tried my hand at multiple offset bends.

Problem I was having was I would always end up with a level offset but 3/4 of an inch too much of a bend. Why does this happen am I putting too much of a bend in it or am I putting too little of a bend in it?

Everytime I do the math for for the distance between my marks. I mark the pipe bend it at the desired line on the bender(30degrees) flip it 180 degrees and bend at second mark...

How do I fix this and become consistent with exactly what I want instead of 3/4 inches higher than I want to be with my offset?

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I never learned bender formula, I just bend by eye.

Don't 5' lengths cost much more per foot than 10'?

masterinbama

So this weekend I bought a klien bender bought some 5 foot sticks of 3/4 pipe and tried my hand at multiple offset bends.

Problem I was having was I would always end up with a level offset but 3/4 of an inch too much of a bend. Why does this happen am I putting too much of a bend in it or am I putting too little of a bend in it?

Everytime I do the math for for the distance between my marks. I mark the pipe bend it at the desired line on the bender(30degrees) flip it 180 degrees and bend at second mark...

How do I fix this and become consistent with exactly what I want instead of 3/4 inches higher than I want to be with my offset?

Conduit bending is a learned skill. It takes time and experience to master.