Estimating Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

JOHNEO99

Hello

My name is John and I am a licensed contractor who has 20+ years experience. I have worked for the union for 15 years and decided to go on my own. I mostly have done residential and mild commercial such as office buildouts and strip malls. All the work has been done in the Chicagoland area which means everything is don in pipe including residential. We have done a lot of romex north of the border in wisconsin. So, my guys know how to pipe very well since that is all they have really known their whole carreers.

I am cuerrently trying to bid a condominium complex. I can bid the living units easily enough because thats been my staple for years. Also basic openings on the commercial side like emergency lights, exit signs, etc. are not a problem either.

The problem I have due to my lack of experience with bidding these these types of things comes with things like the main distribution panels and cct meters. There are (2) 120/240v 800A Main Dist. panels with cct meters on each side of the building. I have helped install these and piped to all the panels within the building...public and private, but have no idea what to charge for it besides the labor.

Any insight or references on this matter would be greatly appreciated. I have a inside connection with the GC and the investors. I really dont want to turn this work down with the market/economy going the way it is.

Again any help would be great. I have even thought about going partners with another contractor on this job just to get my feet wet.

Thanks for the great site

John

"I have helped install these and piped to all the panels within the building...public and private, but have no idea what to charge for it besides the labor."

Well heck John, the labor calc is the hard part.
The gear and wire prices should be simple enough to determine by asking a few suppliers to quote what is specified.

Or am I missing something?

Bob Kraemer