Fire Alarm system

Status
Not open for further replies.
Occupation
Electrician
I'm a 4th year apprentice and am currently working on the fire alarm system for the job. I've been on this for about 2 weeks now. It's a class A system. It's my first time working anything that I can't branch or tap off wherever I want (except for t tapping the smokes). Basically, I've never done any loop wiring. It's just me working on this. The foreman is really my "jdub" right now. He's done a lot of fire alarm systems in the past so he knows the stuff inside and out. The system is an open air wiring spec, so I've almost got all the cables pulled and dropped off where they need to be. I should finish this Monday.

I'm sure I'll learn tons more about fire alarm systems the deeper I get on this project, but I have a question. The job is radiology expansion wing on a hospital and we're interrupting the existing system. Now, when I'm tying in the horns, does it need to loop out of that interruption point, loop through all the new horns and loop all the way back in at the interruption point? Like I said, It's my first time working on loop wiring. I was going over this with the foreman yesterday and I could sense he was getting slightly irritated because I didn't completely understand. I'll get it, I'm just doing my own research right now.

nhfire77

I'm a 4th year apprentice and am currently working on the fire alarm system for the job. I've been on this for about 2 weeks now. It's a class A system. It's my first time working anything that I can't branch or tap off wherever I want (except for t tapping the smokes). Basically, I've never done any loop wiring. It's just me working on this. The foreman is really my "jdub" right now. He's done a lot of fire alarm systems in the past so he knows the stuff inside and out. The system is an open air wiring spec, so I've almost got all the cables pulled and dropped off where they need to be. I should finish this Monday.