FL lamp recycling

Status
Not open for further replies.
I did a search and found this discussed in 2008, so thought it was OK to discuss again. I am an electrical contractor, but I've been doing some lighting maintenance to keep busy. The dead lamps are piling up.:mad: Was wondering what others in this area are doing and what the regulations are for record keeping, etc?:confused: I wanted to post here before calling the waste, and regulating authorities. Thanks in advance for any reply's, I value other electrician opinions.

JES2727

I use DCS:
http://www.labpack.net/index.php

I don't know if they serve your area but I'm sure you can find someone who does. I wait until I have a large amount then I load up the van and take the lamps to their nearest facility, which is not too far from me. If it's a big retrofit job they'll send a truck.
I include a "universal waste disposal fee" in my invoices to customers.
Sometimes my county will run a "hazardous waste disposal day". When they do that I can get rid of all the lamps & ballasts for free.

jmellc

Occupation
Facility Maintenance Tech. Licensed Electrician
I haven't dealt with that recently. I think I'm right in saying the green tip tubes can be thrown in the trash, others are hazmat.

Our city dump used to have a section where they took tubes a certain day of week. I always had to call, it was always a different day. I started saving bundles & taking them there, 30 to 50 or so. The last time, they told me they weren't supposed to take from contractors, homeowners only. I explained most of these were from HO's, so what was the difference. He finally took them but gave me a # of a place in VA I'd have to use in future. The dump would still take ballasts, & I kept taking them there.

My boss sold out & next guy I worked for had the customers deal with the issue. We wouldn't take them. I'm sure a lot wound up in the trash, broken into paper bags.