Florida Certified Electrician Exam

Status
Not open for further replies.

beddy

Hello all, I am studying for my Florida masters but do not totally understand the part that says I need $10,000 in Net Worth. Can this be a bond or do I really need $10,000 in an account. Thanks.

bphgravity

Actually, its BOTH.

FAC 61G6-5.004 requires that 1, the business organization secure a performance or payment bond of not less than $25,000 or provide a letter of credit indicating not less than $25,000. AND 2, provide a financial statement reflecting not less than $10,000 of net worth. The bond or line of credit is NOT the same as net worth. They are separate and distinct requirements.

Also keep in mind that FS 489.537(3)(d) allows any county or municipality to require a $5,000 performance bond for each electrical contractor registered with that jurisdiction.

beddy

So what if I were to just take the Residential exam. I know I can still do work state wide but is the net worth limit less

bphgravity

Yes. The numbers I quoted above are unlimited certified applicants.

For specialty certification, the bond / credit line reduces down to $10,000 AND the net worth is reduced to $5,000.

Only registered limited or restricted competency license applicants are exempt from the financial qualifications stipulated by the ECLB. However, you will have to meet each local jurisdiction's requirements for licensure which may involve certain financial qualification.

The county / municple bond is the same for ANY ECLB license type.

I suggest you spend some time reviewing this website:

http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/pro/elboard/index.html

Last edited:

beddy

Some peole have told me that it only needs to be on paper. For instance I can have a positive value on my home or vehicle or have value in tools. Is this true or are they taking me in the wrong direction.

kingpb

Occupation
Engineer, Registered