FMC Supporting

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
I have no direct experience with how much transformers vibrate, but if somebody when to the trouble to use pads/springs, obviously it's a concern.
I think that more of the concern is the transfer of vibration (noise) to the surrounding building structure. If that isn't a concern then they can be bolted directly to the floor.

wwhitney

Occupation
Retired
I think that more of the concern is the transfer of vibration (noise) to the surrounding building structure.
OK, but EMT or other rigid wiring method strapped to the transformer case and strapped to the building structure will also transfer vibration. So when someone has specified pads/spring for the enclosure mounting to avoid transferring vibration to the structure, then the use of a flexible wiring method is called for to comply with that goal.

Cheers, Wayne

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
OK, but EMT or other rigid wiring method strapped to the transformer case and strapped to the building structure will also transfer vibration. So when someone has specified pads/spring for the enclosure mounting to avoid transferring vibration to the structure, then the use of a flexible wiring method is called for to comply with that goal.

Cheers, Wayne
I agree, when there is an external vibration method employed it's likely that the designer wants a flexible raceway also.

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer
Once the raceway is longer than about a foot I question whether vibration is still a valid reason to invoke the exception. So for example in the bottom right photo in post #4, the short section on the left side of the transformer seems fine without a strap. But the 3-4ft long section on the right side, not so much.

kwired

Electron manager

Cheers, Wayne