Generator next to cooling towers.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Highlow

Hello to all.
I Work as a maintenance man in the building. There is a new cooling tower getting installed next to the building.
Right behind new cooling tower is a new backup generator is being installed. Also cooling tower shut off valves right above generator, maybe 5-7feet away. The question I have is with water, moisture and chemicals, that are used for cooling towers, should it be a pretty large distance between this units? I know you can't have any water over electrical gear. Anybody know, so any problems in the future can be avoid it? Any help would be appreciate.
Big D.

kwired

Electron manager
As far as water goes - doesn't it ever rain where you are at? This is outdoors from what I read.

Chemicals - it is a good idea to keep away if they are going to have an effect on whatever they may come in contact with.

Other option is use of enclousres acceptable for use with the chemical involved - like stainless boxes instead of galvanized or painted.

Highlow

Probably not, but corrosion issue, probably will be a huge factor. It seems that amount of moisture and chemicals from the towers should be at more distance, not at 10 feet apart!

kwired

Electron manager
What are chemicals for? Only thing I can think of is maybe occasional external washing of heat exchanger. If they are going to be hard on generator enclosure they are probably hard on the cooling tower enclosure also. If that the only use of the chemicals it may not be too big of a problem.

texie

Occupation
Electrician, Contractor, Inspector
What are chemicals for? Only thing I can think of is maybe occasional external washing of heat exchanger. If they are going to be hard on generator enclosure they are probably hard on the cooling tower enclosure also. If that the only use of the chemicals it may not be too big of a problem.